Home About Presidents


Gerard Silvestri, MD, MS, FCCPPresident: Gerard Silvestri, MD, MS, FCCP, is an international expert in lung cancer and interventional pulmonology. He completed his training in pulmonary and critical care at Dartmouth and has served on the faculty at the Medical University of South Carolina for nearly 25 years. He is the President of CHEST, the George Sr. and Margaret Hillenbrand Professor of Thoracic Oncology and Vice-Chair of Medicine for faculty development at the Medical University of South Carolina in Charleston. His research includes screening for lung cancer, how patients should be diagnosed and staged with the disease and how to evaluate new technologies needed to diagnose and treat these patients. Dr. Silvestri is a writer and editor of the American College of Chest Physicians lung cancer guidelines. He is a past president of the American Association of Bronchology and Interventional Pulmonology. Dr. Silvestri has authored more than 200 scientific articles, book chapters and editorials. He has served on multiple editorial boards of medical journals and currently serves on the editorial board of the journal CHEST. Dr. Silvestri was awarded the Pasquale Ciaglia Memorial Lecture in Interventional Pulmonary Medicine in 2012, which recognizes career contributions to that field, and the Edward C. Rosenow III, MD, Master FCCP/Master Teacher Honor Lecture in 2014 by CHEST.


StuddardPresident-Elect: John Studdard, MD, FCCP, is a pulmonary and critical care physician in private practice with Jackson Pulmonary Associates in Jackson, Mississippi. Dr. Studdard is currently the President-Elect of CHEST. He is board-certified in internal medicine and pulmonary disease by the American Board of Internal Medicine. Dr. Studdard’s dedication to reducing the number of patients he treats for tobacco-related diseases and his leadership qualities led him to serve as representative for CHEST in the negotiations with the tobacco industry leading to the attorneys general Master Settlement Agreement of 1998.


Clayton CowlPresident-Designate: Clayton T. Cowl, MD, FCCP, is triple board-certified in pulmonary and critical care medicine, occupational medicine and internal medicine with an interest in airway disorders, occupational-related respiratory health, toxicology, altitude physiology, aviation medicine and transportation medicine. Dr. Cowl is the President-Designate and sits as a member of the Board of Regents of CHEST and is Chair of the Division of Preventive, Occupational and Aerospace Medicine with a joint appointment in the Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota. His research focus has included projects in altitude physiology at Mayo Clinic’s altitude chamber where testing for the emergency oxygen mask for passengers in the new Boeing 787 was completed. He has also published in the areas of occupational asthma and toxic inhalations. Dr. Cowl is currently the President of the Civil Aviation Medical Association and is a Senior Aviation Medical Examiner designated by the Federal Aviation Administration. In 2015, Dr. Cowl received the Innovation in Education Award from the Mayo School of Continuous Professional Development, Mayo Clinic College of Medicine, for work on developing and leading a course training physicians and advanced nurse practitioners on performing medical certification examination on commercial truck and bus drivers.

Barbara PhillipsImmediate Past President: Barbara A. Phillips, MD, MSPH, FCCP, is a sleep medicine pulmonologist board-certified in internal medicine and pulmonary medicine, with an interest in the effects of sleep apnea on performance and outcomes, genetic risk factors for sleep apnea, nonpharmacologic treatment of sleep apnea and sleep in aging. Dr. Phillips is the Immediate Past President of CHEST; a Professor of Pulmonary, Critical Care, and Sleep Medicine in the Department of Internal Medicine; and Medical Director of the Sleep Laboratory at the University of Kentucky College of Medicine. Dr. Phillips chaired the National Sleep Foundation and has served on the boards of the American Lung Association, the American Academy of Sleep Medicine and the American Board of Sleep Medicine. In 2011, Dr. Phillips received the Excellence in Education Award from the American Academy of Sleep Medicine. Dr. Phillips also received the Sleep Academic Award from the National Institutes of Health and was presented with the College Medalist Award at CHEST 2013.


CHEST Past Presidents

2015-2016 Barbara A. Phillips, MD, MSPH, FCCP
2014-2015 Curtis N. Sessler, MD, FCCP
2013-2014 Michael H. Baumann, MD, MS, FCCP
2012-2013 Darcy D. Marciniuk, MD, FCCP
2011-2012 Suhail Raoof, MD, FCCP
2010-2011 David D. Gutterman, MD, FCCP
2009-2010 Kalpalatha K. Guntupalli, MD, FCCP
2008-2009 James A. L. Mathers, Jr., MD, FCCP
2007-2008 Alvin V. Thomas, Jr., MD, FCCP
2006-2007 Mark J. Rosen, MD, Master FCCP
2005-2006 W. Michael Alberts, MD, Master FCCP
2004-2005 Paul A. Kvale, MD, FCCP, Master FCCP
2003-2004 Richard S. Irwin, MD, Master FCCP
2002-2003 Udaya B. S. Prakash, MD, FCCP, Master FCCP
2001-2002 Sidney S. Braman, MD, FCCP
2000-2001 Robert G. Johnson, MD, Master FCCP
1999-2000 Susan K. Pingleton, MD, FCCP, Master FCCP
1998-1999 Allen I. Goldberg, MD, Master FCCP
1997-1998 D. Robert McCaffree, MD, Master FCCP
1996-1997 Bart Chernow, MD, Master FCCP
1995-1996 Deborah Shure, MD, Master FCCP
1994-1995 James B. D. Mark, MD, FCCP
1993-1994 Ronald B. George, MD, Master FCCP
1992-1993 Paul D. Stein, MD, Master FCCP
1991-1992 * Roger C. Bone, MD, Master FCCP
1990-1991 Alex G. Little, MD, FCCP
1989-1990 Edward C. Rosenow III, MD, Master FCCP
1988-1989 * Marvin I. Dunn, MD, Master FCCP
1987-1988 * A. Jay Block, MD, Master FCCP
1986-1987 * Lawrence H. Cohn, MD, FCCP
1985-1986 James E. Dalen, MD, Master FCCP
1984-1985 Dick D. Briggs, Jr., MD, Master FCCP
1983-1984 * Sylvan Lee Weinberg, MD, FCCP
1982-1983 W. Gerald Rainer, MD, FCCP
1981-1982 * Thomas L. Petty, MD, Master FCCP
1980-1981 * John G. Weg, MD, Master FCCP
1979-1980 * Leon Resnekov, MD, FCCP
1978-1979 * Harold C. Urschel, Jr., MD, FCCP
1977-1978 *Joseph C. Ross, MD, FCCP
1976-1977 * Matthew B. Divertie, MD, FCCP
1975-1976 * Crawford W. Adams, MD, FCCP
1974-1975 * Arthur C. Beall, Jr., MD, FCCP
1973-1974 * Howard S. Van Ordstrand, MD, FCCP
1972-1973 * Albert H. Andrews, MD, FCCP
1971-1972 * David P. Boyd, MD, FCCP
1970-1971 * Arthur M. Master, MD, FCCP
1969-1970 * Arthur M. Olsen, MD, Master FCCP
1968-1969 * Coleman B. Rabin, MD, FCCP
1967-1968 * William E. Adams, MD, FCCP
1966-1967 * Howell S. Randolph, MD, FCCP
1965-1966 * Oliver K. Niess, MD, FCCP
1964-1965 * Alfred Goldman, MD, FCCP
1963-1964 * Charles K. Petter, MD, FCCP
1962-1963 * John F. Briggs, MD, FCCP
1961-1962 * Hollis E. Johnson, MD, FCCP
1960-1961 * M. Jay Filpse, MD, FCCP
1959-1960 * Seymour M. Farber, MD, FCCP
1958-1959 * Donald R. McKay, MD, FCCP
1957-1958 * Burgess L. Gordon, MD, FCCP
1956-1957 * Herman J. Moersch, MD, FCCP
1955-1956 * James H. Stygall, MD, FCCP
1954-1955 * William A. Hudson, MD, FCCP
1953-1954 * Alvis E. Greer, MD, FCCP
1952-1953 * Andrew L. Banyai, MD, FCCP
1951-1952 * Chevalier L. Jackson, MD, FCCP
1950-1951 * Louis Mark, MD, FCCP
1949-1950 * Joseph C. Placak, Sr., MD, FCCP
1948-1949 * Richard H. Overholt, MD, FCCP
1947-1948 * Shelly U. Marietta, MD, FCCP
1946-1947 * Charles M. Henricks, MD, FCCP
1944-1946 * Jay Arthur Myers, MD, FCCP
1942-1944 * J. Winthrop Peabody, Sr., MD, FCCP
1941-1942 * Benjamin Goldberg, MD, FCCP
1940-1941 * John H. Peck, MD, FCCP
1939-1940 * Ralph C. Matson, MD, FCCP
1938-1939 * Champ H. Holmes, MD, FCCP
1937-1938 * Edward W. Hayes, Sr., MD, FCCP
1935-1937 * William Devitt, MD, FCCP

* = Deceased